Should I Contact An Attorney If I Was Pulled Over For Reckless Driving in Richmond, Va.?
Drivers should always consider contacting an attorney after they have been pulled over for a serious driving violation in Richmond. This includes reckless driving, one charge that has life-altering consequences potentially if a conviction does take place. When facing any misdemeanor charges, drivers need to get proactive about protecting their driving record, their finances, and their future.
Defining Reckless Driving
Reckless driving is a somewhat broad charge that can be applied to a variety of situations. For many drivers, this takes place when they are in an auto collision, and a law enforcement officer believes that they are partially or entirely at fault. Drivers may also be charged with this misdemeanor if they are going over the speed limit by more than 20 miles per hour or driving anywhere in Virginia over 80 miles per hour. Essentially, any time that an officer thinks that a driver is being reckless and putting others in danger they can issue a ticket for reckless driving.
The Penalties of Reckless Driving
Reckless driving in Virginia is considered a class 1 misdemeanor, and this means that it is one of the most serious non-felony charges. Drivers that are convicted of this crime will have their license suspended for a period, increased insurance premiums, court fines, and DMV fees. For more serious offenses such as driving over 100 miles per hour, a convicted driver will spend time in jail. Over the course of six months, drivers can expect to spend thousands of dollars in fines, fees, and increased insurance premiums.
Beating These Charges
Reckless driving charges can be beaten by creating an airtight case. The Commonwealth of Virginia must prove beyond a reasonable doubt that the driver did commit the violation. Variables such as the location of the alleged crime, the experience of the officer, and the calibration of their equipment will all be taken into consideration. For drivers that are facing huge penalties, these minor bits of information could make all the difference in their case.
Getting Legal Help
Tackling a reckless driving charge or any other class 1 misdemeanor without an attorney can result in a conviction that will haunt a driver for years. Those that have been pulled over and officially charged with reckless driving should call our reckless driving attorney in Richmond as soon as possible to explore their legal options.